Account necessity

I’m having trouble understanding the need for accounts. I am a novice and managed to get help to install e/ on my Fairphone. I thought I could use the phone’s apps without registering an account, and the idea is to avoid using a Google account, but alas, an account is required to enter anything into the calendar. The e/ account does not seem to be sufficient

Also, if I reset my device, would I lose the e/os?

Any help much appreciated

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

Although this isn’t a solution for the default calendar, which I don’t use, one option is to download a different calendar app, such as Simple Calendar, from the store.

I also use a different launcher (OpenLauncher), which allows me to hide unwanted apps, like the default calendar.

I believe an enhancement to /e/OS is planned that will allow easy removal of pre-installed apps, as well.

Hi @adamj, from Calendar > Settings you can add offline calendar.

This will work fine with no cloud connection.

If you want to make a fresh start, you can use System > Advanced > Reset options. There are a few options, with the most drastic, Erase all data, you will not lose /e/OS.

You sound as if you may want to explore a device with no account and no cloud. This is perfectly possible with minimal change from /e/ as delivered.

You do not even have to follow this path, but Simple Mobile Tools mentioned by @Taurus offers a range of uncomplicated apps which would easily give you experience of deviating (slightly) from /e/ and exploring the width of change you can actually make in your journey from novice.

Bon chance

1 Like

Thank you, yes I see alternative apps are available, but it would be nice to see the apps provided by e/ working properly. The suggestion about using an offline calendar was helpful!

HI @aibd,