Turning this off would result in the permanent display that you have no internet connection, and Apps relying on this connectivity check (instead of checking for themselves or just trying to connect regardless) would refuse to work out of the belief there’s no internet connection. I would assume you’ve seen the user complaints about this caused by the unavailable server.
You can change this …