Sonim xp8 Please make e/os available for this phone thanks

Sonim xp8

Please make e/os available for this phone thanks

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

2 Likes

Unfortunally there’s really few 3ads about “sonim” @ XDA but, since is shipped with Android 8 upgradable to 10, you may try GSI builds on it:
https://doc.e.foundation/support-topics/install-GSI

I looked at the link you sent looks promising , for myself i am novice with working with software dont think i would be successful .
Is there someone that can do this for me or even help through remote link on computer to another , i have some knowledge of mobile phone usually can get out of simple jam even if it means doing factory hard reset .

Thanks in advance for the help

This is the companion page to the Support topics page already linked.

You might consider starting a #gsi thread using this link:- Create a new Topic #gsi for more support once you understand the workflow.

Good luck.

@Duke following your reply I added a second link above, for another perspective on the ideas behind GSI.

Thanks for info now just need to digest the info to understand hopefully i can make it work

If you have thoughts or ideas that can help please do tell.
Thank you
Billy

I too am interested in using an XP8. It’s one of the few remaining phones with hardware buttons, which is one of the many things that makes it rather unique.

Hi Bribri this is duke (billy) what do you think chances are for sonim xp8 to run e/os no issues

Number1 are you in U.S.A
Number2 do you have sonim xp8 at this moment ,

Thanks billy

The SONIM XP8 was originally delivered with Android 7.0 (Nougat) according to the available data sheets 2018 and is therefore not Treble Project compliant.

The upgrades to Android 8.1 Oreo up to Stock Android 10.0.0 offer no guarantee that the partitioning necessary for Treble GSI has been carried out.