Android AdService and microG

Hi,

I use the Fairphone 5 with /e/OS (1.18-t) but I’m new to both Android, /e/OS and this forum. I aim to decentralize my usage and prevent trackers and ads as much as possible. However, yesterday I was served some personalized ads in an app, which made me confused and curious how that was possible. After a bit of digging, I think this happened because both Reddit and the other app use Google Firebase Analytics, which probably leak my interests from Reddit. Anyways, while investigating this, I also found that Android AdServices are installed by default, as one of the core apps. Again, I’m new to Android so I apologize if this is a stupid question, but what is this used for and why does it come pre-installed on a OS which aim to prevent trackers?

Another question I have is, if I go into the microG settings, then Cloud Messaging, why can’t I turn it off? I can disable Notifications for every app manually to achieve “Status: Disconnected”, but I can’t disable it globally using the blue bar at the top. How come? Same question goes for the Google SafetyNet, where none of my apps seems to use it, but I still can’t disable it?

Thanks!
zelest

I’m running /e/OS 1.18-s but didn’t find ‘Android AdServices’ in my (system) apps list.

Most of your questions have been answered here :

https://doc.e.foundation/calls_to_google_servers.html

I’m running /e/OS 1.18-s but didn’t find ‘Android AdServices’ in my (system) apps list.

Oh, strange. It’s there on my phone and I can’t uninstall or disable it though.
Also, someone on Matrix confirmed that it’s there on his FP5 running 1.15.1-t-20230928335656-stable-FP5 too. :man_shrugging:

Most of your questions have been answered here :

https://doc.e.foundation/calls_to_google_servers.html