Anti-rollback issue misunderstanding

Hello.

I’m about to try to install /e/os on a brand new Fairphone FP5. This is a first for me, given that I’m brand new to both Fairphone and /e/os.

I’ve stumbled on the anti-rollback issue, which I do not perfectly understand. Hence I stopped the process.

Here are the informations that I have:

Now, what makes me suspicious is:

• https://doc.e.foundation/devices/FP5/install page states: “Downloads for FP5 /e/OS build : T stable (Security patch: 2024-02-05)”
    ==> This means to me: “do not install this version of /e/os because it is based on a security patch that is older than the one on my device”
  • while following step by step the install guide, I unlocked the bootloader of my device, and previous page mentions “Rollback protection errors are IGNORED when the bootloader is UNLOCKED.”
    ==> This means to me: “I can install this version of /e/os since the bootloader is unlocked, so that will be ignored”

So what should I do: proceed with the install? wait until the /e/os build is based on a security patch >2024-02-05 (while making sure that the phone remains in current security patch)? how about restoring or not the bootloader locking after that?

Thank you very much in advance.

Note: I browsed through the messages and read the following ones, but without fully understanding them:

• Can I get a confirmation on anti-rollback without re-locking bootloader?
  • Two quick questions before installing /e/OS on an FP5 (anti-rollback feature + skip microg)

Do you wish and intend long term to run your FP5 with a locked bootloader ?

1 Like

Hello and thank you, @aibd.
The Reddit post you mention is very interesting, and lead me to make up my mind regarding bootloader locking: I won’t relock the bootloader, after installing /e/os.

I want to avoid my rewording of the documentation, but does looking at it like this solve the misunderstanding ?