BankID has changed its activation procedure, fails on /e/OS

Hi everyone
I’ve been running /e/ on a Samsung S8 for a few years and it’s been great, all apps work as expected. But after a few too many swan dives to the floor I had to get a new phone, in this case a Samsung S10e, on which I installed /e/OS 1.11-s-20230511288805-dev-beyond0lte. Again everything’s been working great, with one exception. So here’s my problem;

I need to run the BankID app for banking, this is a common identification app in several Nordic countries and required for many financial services. Recently they changed their procedure for activating the app, where you have to scan your passport or ID card. Not everyone has to do this currently, people are selected at random, but I’m sure this will be mandatory for everyone eventually. This scanning procedure fails with the popup

“Error
Unable to start text recognition. The cause may be that Google Play services hasn’t finished downloading the necessary files yet. Please try again later”

Obviously I’ve tried again later :slight_smile: . Also, I’ve made sure to check if there were any updates to install, there were none. I suppose text recognition is part of Google play, and that MicroG doesn’t support it yet or something. I’m curious to hear what the community makes of this, because I have no idea where to start, who to report this bug to, etc. Has anyone been able to complete activation (including scanning an ID) with an /e/-powered phone?

This is a must-have app for people in my region of the world, and I’m sure more and more people will run into this passport-scanning requirement, so I really hope this can be fixed. Thanks in advance for all comments and suggestions.

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

1 Like

My bank app recently changed. I had to turn off developer mode to get it to work.

Maybe you can ask your bank if it’s possible to come in to an office to verify your ID.