Can Magic Earth show the direction I'm looking at?

Hi all,
i’m really new to e/OS (packaged with my new FairPhone 4 murena phone :slight_smile: ) and I’m glad to discover the ecosystem.

I’m trying to use Magic Earth (which is installed by default) but I can’t figure out if it’s possible to show on the map the direction the phone is looking at.

Do you know if this feature exists ? It was really useful of google maps and I hope something similar exists on Magic Earth.

If not, perhaps another google-free tool provides it ?

Thanks a lot for your answer !

BR

Donut

2 Likes

Just tap on the compass icon at the right side of the screen to switch the view between fixed North and dynamic :wink: .

This has been annoying me too. Magic Earth does not use the compass on my FP3. I always have to guess which way to start driving before it figures out my heading.

Other map based apps such as PlugShare have no problem showing the compass direction. I recommend the app Trail Sense for testing the compass.

Works totally fine on my Fairphone 3. I just tried for this topic, else I use OsmAnd or GMaps WV (an App wrapper for the Google Maps website).

OsmAnd~ works fine too. It seems to just be something with Magic Earth. Maybe I should check logcat.

This is the default state of the view and the icon when I open Magic Earth, North is fixed …

Screenshot_20220811-160938_Magic_Earth_1

When I tap on the icon, the view and the icon change to a dynamic mode, spinning according to the compass and the position of the phone …

Screenshot_20220811-161113_Magic_Earth_1

Tapping on the icon again will switch to the fixed North view again.
(Same principle in general as in a bunch of other map Apps including OsmAnd, although other map Apps including OsmAnd may already indicate the viewing direction in some form in any view.)