Choosing a US Phone for /e/OS

Hi everyone,

I’m not sure where to post this. Please, let me know if there’s a better place. I need a new phone.

I live in the US and use Ting, a service that piggybacks on Verizon. I believe they now hop on all three monopolies, erh, I mean cellphone carriers, Verizon, ATT, and Sprint.

I have a locked Samsung S7 that can’t be flashed. Never do that ever again. I don’t care about the brand. I am a journalist and need fairly good video and audio hardware.

Does anyone in the US on Verizon have recommendations as to which smartphone they like best, considering my priorities are audio/video?

Thank you so very much. For some reason, choosing a new phone makes me feel the same about a root canal!

Thank you for your experience and support.

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

1 Like

I’d love to find a phone that will work with Verizon.

I cant be sure of Verizon compatiblity, but in terms of hardware capabilty and /e/ compatibility i think OnePlus is your best bet. Ive flashed the 6T, 8T, and 9 Pro, with no complaints.

I know the Pixel line works on Verizon, I’m just not sure if it works on Verizon on /e/. I saw someone said the Xperia XZ1 works on Ting via T-Mobile, but I know nothing about that device. (Edit: My eyes suck and I thought I read Ting Verizon)

I believe Ting uses both Verizon and T-Mobile, so if you can use the T-Mobile half then like @HellsBells said, a OnePlus is probably your best option. I use an 8T myself (I use Mint Mobile) and it’s great.

^what this guy said. Mint Mobile + OnePlus is the ultimate 1-2 punch. I use the 9 Pro as my daily driver and have my 8T as backup.

I think you mean XZ1 Compact. The XZ1 is not certified for VoLTE with T-mobile or MVNOs on T-mobile’s network.

I’m a long time Ting user and have had luck with a Samsung S9 and currently a Moto G7 Plus.