Data on 'mom and dad' actually using /e/?

Is there any data on actual ‘mom and dad/regular users’ using /e/? When reading posts and discussions on these forums I sometimes get the feeling that the ‘mom and dad /e/ user’ is actually a bit of a myth.

Does anyone know of a non-tech person that’s made the jump to /e/? Are anyone’s older parents using /e/? I have been talking about /e/ with friends and colleagues for two years now, often with great enthusiasm, but not one person has made the switch.

I am less tech-savvy than most contributors on these forums. I was able to flash a rom on my own and I have done things like install linux on old laptops and have set up an Ubuntu server, putting me a step above ‘mom and dad’ level, though that was a significant challenge for me.

I’m curious if anyone knows a regular /e/ user and if there is data on this.

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

5 Likes

I really agree with this point: for any start-up it is really important to involve your main user group as early as possible, so /e/ should make it a point to get some moms and dads involved, and get their feedback, and work that back into its plans.

1 Like

I bought a refurbished S9+ for my Mom that is really non-tech people.
It’s basic usage like web browsing and using popular apps (Facebook, WhatApps, …) but she’s doing fine.
I’m here to help here when needed, that helps :blush:

1 Like

There is no data, but it’s normal if for now the part of non-techy users is low. After all, even if /e/ has made major improvements in a limited amount of time, it’s still the beginning.

/e/ can still have some issues that could make it problematic for non-techy users, and I think that’s also why it’s officially still in beta.

However, everything is done to improve the part of non-techy users. For instance :

• Phones can already be bought with /e/ installed.