Decent FLAC player

Hi, I’m running eOS 1.14 (can’t seem to update any higher) on a Samsung Galaxy S9. I’d like to use it primarily as a FLAC music player utilising files stored on an external drive. I have searched but without success so can anyone recommend a good music player for FLAC files which is available on eOS please?

What other requirements besides flac do you have that you did not find any player?
Have you tried vlc or sicmu?

edit: both available via F-Droid or App Lounge.

1 Like

I use Vanilla Music from F-Droid. I’ve been using it for several years and it works fine. It supports all common audio formats (MP3, OGG, FLAC, PCM). I mostly use MP3, but I have played a couple of FLAC pieces a while agao with no problems.

As the app is available in F-Droid, it should be available from /e/'s app store, but I don’t use that so I cant be sure.

1 Like

Since decades, I trust foobar2000 to play my files on (almost) every desktop & mobile computer.

Pros:

• comes with an integrated media manager, doesn’t use Android’s
  • plays almost everything, with DSP and RealPlayGain
  • can be downloaded as apk

Cons:

• not FOSS, but it’s clean
  • have to go to Settings/Media Library to add & scan sources (ie. local folder)

Support here.

https://hydrogenaud.io/index.php?board=75.0

1 Like

Same here for Windows (at work… no Micro$hit at home). On linux I use deadbeef (similar to foobar2000); they have a player for mobile although I have not used it recently.
Flac files work by using the default /e/ player (at least on my v2.0 T S9+) , though I’m not really sure how easy it would be to deal with accessing something externally. Maybe put a very large microSD card on the phone and store them locally ?!
Another interesting option could be musicolet.
Good luck!

Thanks! I will try both Vanilla and foobar2000. I also found AIMP which I’m testing.