Downgrade from android T to R possible?

Hi
I installed on a s10+ android T. I don’t like it and saw that there is also Android R existing.
I read however that the stock should never be downgraded. That’s why you should have the latest update of android before you install e.
I’m not an expert. with stock and so on i have no idea.

Here the text:
It is important that you know that downgrading Smartphones on OS versions greater than the /e/OS OS version you plan to install, can cause instability or at worst brick some devices. We recommend that you check your current OS version, before attempting the installation.

My question is therefore: can i install on a phone with /e/ android T a new version (/e/ android R)?
I thought if i wipe the phone i will delete the old?

guess first obstacle could be rollback protection, but I think the vbmeta partition can be reset . Not a Samsung user myself, somebody else knows better.

As Samsung did official releases for Android 12 for the device, you’d run A12 certified firmware blobs with A11 system. You can try ofc but userdata won’t be compatible I think.

The reason I wouldn’t downgrade even if I’d miss the better quick tiles - maintainers care mostly only about the current branch. You’ll run an old kernel - https://github.com/LineageOS/android_kernel_samsung_exynos9820/tree/lineage-18.1 - for any issues, you will not get fixes. Now I read you’re an update-non-believer, but for the kernel I’d care

what is your Samsung firmware version ?

if it is G975FXXUEHVC6 (based on android 12) or earlier you can downgrade to the outdated G975FXXSEFUL1 (based on android 11) because the revision bit “E” but you wil loose all your things.
then you can install the outdated e-1.8.1-r-20230205257804-dev-beyond2lte.zip (based on android 11)

if it is G975FXXUFHVE1 (based on android 12) or later, you can’t downgrade Samsung firmware to G975FXXSEFUL1 (based on android 11) because the revision bit “F” or “G”

1 Like