/e/ set up Q's from new user

Hi all. I HAVE YET TO INSTALL /E/ but have some Q’s and your answers will help me decide what to do…
I’m running Lineage on a one plus 6. I’ve set up an /e/ account and it’s all syncing fine. I’m no coder, I just follow instructions so thanks to all those who have written instructions and help out.
My Q’s.
I Want to be free of google for good but there are some apps that are only available on the play store - I’ve asked the providers in question and they confirm this so, does the yalp store, or alternative actually work in installing play store apps without your own google account? Will google fix/close the spoofing that allows this? If they do, how do we get round it? I tried yalp on my current set up and when updating apps it said to uninstall previous app version. This will mean logging in again to each app I update. Is this how it works with yalp?

Launcher - is it stuck in an apple style, I have to have all apps ‘out on display’ sort of crap style? If so, that’s a deal breaker for me. I do not want an apple lookylikey. I can install another launcher but on every phone I’ve ever owned they cause problems and crash and end up being uninstalled. I want to organise my most used apps in folders and have an app drawer to access the rest.

How buggy actually is it? As a non tech chap, should I back away and wait until the bleeding edge has stopped bleeding?
Thanks all and big up to Gael and team for taking this on.
J.

1 Like

Hi J,

Yoy can downliad EVERY app wich is in playstore with aurora, because it’s only a differnt frontend fir playsore, same as yalp. Both are able to connect annonymus to playstore.
But apps with inside purchase will need a goiglevaccount or some won’t work.

The best app store is f-droid with only ooen source apps.

Regarding launcher, you are absolut right. Use librechair or trebuchet or any other launcher.’