Experience and thoughts with /e/OS

After using /e/ OS on a Fairphone 4 for nine months as my primary phone I want to share my experience, leanings and thoughts with you. It is a long read, not really technical but from a user perspective. My day job is in IT business development and I am also a part time but professional photographer.

I guess we are all in this forum for more or less the same reasons. Idealistic motivations, better privacy and more control over the device that has become an almost unavoidable tracker and archiver of our lives for the benefit of businesses and governments. But also it is the fun of tinkering and being part of a community that gives us options. A lot of what I read in the forum is about the latter.

I found /e/OS after searching for Linux phone alternatives. After flashing and testing an old Samsung S3 mini with /e/OS for a while I bit the bullet and ordered a Murena Fairphone 4. The fresh air in my digital life arrived in January this year. I started to transfer my smartphone life to /e/OS and gave my iPhone 12 Pro to my wife

My learning curve was twofold. Getting all necessary apps up and running and to do essential things like banking, email, messaging, connecting to healthcare and government institutions and some apps related to work. Secondly, coming from the Apple ecosystem, Android was mostly new to me.

Upfront I knew compromises and sacrifices would have to be made. To name a few: Camera - as a photographer, even with the stock Fairphone OS it would not have met my wishes. I bought I high quality very compact camera to compensate for that. And also some tasks where pushed to my iPad and / or the browser instances even though a proprietary app was available and functional.

All in all I tried use /e/OS as my daily driver for everything. At least to some degree.