Fairphone 3+ User Experience

Hi!

I just recently purchased Fairphone 3+ with /e/ OS flashed on it, to use it as my daily driver phone. I absolutely love the modular design and upgrade-ability of Fairphone and I’ve been diving deeper into Open Source software this year. I already have some experience with using LineageOS and Ubuntu Touch (I flashed both on my Nexus 5 and one on LeEco Le Max 2) so I can compare those three systems in this post.

First of all, great that you (/e/ foundation) started providing tools for easy installation of the system. As a tech newbie I tried to flash 3 phones with LineageOS, one worked well, one is soft-bricked, one worked great for some time and now won’t start (probably there’s a hardware issue). So when I switched to UbuntuTouch and used UBPorts for the first time, I realized, that this is the way to go - if you ever want to become alternative to Google and iOS, the operating system has to be easily flashable - just like the UbuntuTouch. It automatically finds the device and you literally need to click once to install everything, along with custom recovery. When it comes to /e/ OS I know it’s not yet there but this is definately something I highly support. I would even consider paying some small amount for such a feature so I would be able to flash all my phones with /e/ OS. Fortunately, I had my fairphone pre-flashed by the kind people in your foundation, so that wasn’t part of my worries since start.