How exactly can I install e/OS on my Fairphone 5?

Dear community,

I have installed e/OS before with great pleasure on my Fairphone 3 thanks to the easy installer. But now I’m struggling to install e/OS on my Fairphone 5. It’s probably because I’m a noob at these things. Because I simply don’t understand the instructions given online.

I saw a post that the easy installer was available for Fairphone 5

But when I downloaded the easy installer, it did not support the Fairphone 5. Also when I check the supported devices list, I don’t see ‘easy installer’ listed next to FP5.

I then tried to understand the manual install instructions. But there are just some basic steps I already do not understand. For example step 1 of installing e/OS: “unzip the archive”.
Which archive? From where?

I then tried to find a version of the easy installer that does support FP5. And I think I have found it via this page:

So I got excited: ‘Yay, maybe I can still install e/OS easily!’
But now my problem is how to get the newer version of the Easy Installer running on mac (intel).

Because the readme file says:

“1/ Build the easy installer application normally” (sorry, but what is ‘build the application’, and how do I do that?)

“3/ Run the ./mac_package.sh script. This create a folder EasyInstaller-installer containing the EasyInstaller.app (application)” (run the script where? I tried Terminal, but that did not work).

So it seems that I’m already getting stuck with the simplest steps that apparently are so simple for developers that they don’t bother to explain anymore. Is maybe anyone still willing and able to help me get e/OS installed? (A)

here is the Official method

there is an alternative method that need to be writed

• using a custom recovery
    TWRP or the recovery-e included into the /e/.zip

• and an recovery compatible file

1 Like