How to spread out source and build files for Google Pixel 3 XL

I’m new to building Android and would like to give it a try.

In terms of partitioning my ssd’s, I have about 80gb free space on my Ubuntu 20.04 boot NVMe and then about 450gb free space on the drive 2 SSD.

What do you recommend I do in terms of allocating source files and build files and how do I go about doing that when setting up the build environment?

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

I would install the tools on your boot drive, then use the big drive for your working directories.

Create a working directory on the big drive. If you are building with Docker or the picomatic builde.sh script, you use the -v parameters to use that as the root directory. If you are building the traditional way, then start in that directory (or a subdirectory) when you do the initial repo sync.

450GB should give you space to have at least two separate source trees (e.g. one Q, one Android 11, or one /e/ and one LineageOS or Linegageos4microG).

PS I have a Building /e/ ROMs - a Beginner's Guide wiki page that you may find useful

2 Likes

Thank you for your recommendations!

It’s all a bit confusing for a first timer, so I greatly appreciate your help. Your beginners tips is very informative.

I have a Google Pixel 3 XL, which currently is not on the official, nor custom, nor unofficial lists. But it looks like a possiblity exists since the Pixel 3XL is compatible with Project Treble.

Someone posted to try a GSI for the Pixel 3 XL:

and referred to this XDA link:
h t t p : / / forum.xda-developers.com/t/guide-how-to-install-a-gsi-rom-on-the-pixel-3-xl.3892685/

Continuing on with efoundation posts, here’s a Pixel 3a XL inquiry regarding GSI:
h t t p s : / / community.e.foundation/t/howto-install-eos-gsi-on-a-treble-device-new-gsi-added-june-14th/14898/12

And this:
h t t p : / / community.e.foundation/t/gsi-for-not-yet-supported-treble-phones-2020-06-14/6412

. . .