Is it safe to use bank apps in eOS?

Hi all,
Do you think is it safe to use a bank app in eOS?
I mean, they are built to work in Google Android, supported by Google developers, security,experience and so on; by using other OS there “might be bugs” that hackers could use to get thru our data… we are not talking about wassup, telegram, gps… it´s a bank app where we store our money.

It´s just one of the concerns i have to use them in the recently eOS phone I´ve bought, and maybe somebody can help me to clarify this question. I am not an expert or IT guy.

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

1 Like

It doesn’t matter if /e/, LineageOS, or Stock Android.
With or without Google Service. googled or de-geoogled.
To use banking Apps are never safe.
The only exception I accept is a 2FA app from the bank. But not the bank app itself for access to the account.

There are two ways of discussion:

1. Do I want to be tracked by google, facebook, twitter, amaton, etc…do I? Do I want these corporations to know my data, my behavior, my whereabouts, etc…?
    No, then I have to de-goggle my smartphone and PC
  2. How important is security and data integrity to me. Access to my accounts, etc…
    Then I must not host password safes in the cloud. Not use a banking app…

Both points must be considered separately and implemented individually or together.

1 Like

Thanks kisman172,

In this case i didnt mean or wanted to ask if they/Google will “track us”, but what concerns me is if a “malicious” hackers could “easily” access to our bank apps as we have them installed in a not “offitial” OS, without lets say, the Google security for example.

which one? If it’s an FP3, these are delivered bootloader locked and file based encrypted by default.