Nextcloud can't send email

In my fresh install, the nextcloud and welcome sites can’t send email.

They come preconfigured to send via mail.$DOMAIN, and are preset to resolve that name to the server’s external IP.

I am no docker expert, but as far as I can tell from much web searching, it’s actually impossible for a docker container to contact another container via the public IP; they have to use the docker internal network.

This is at least partially true, since running nc in the containers’ namespace fails to connect. :slight_smile:

When I change /etc/hosts to point that name to the internal IP, nc connects but the nextcloud email test times out (rather than failing immediately, as it does in the default setup) as does the welcome site.

This isn’t a huge deal, since I changed nextcloud to relay through my prexisting mail server and I don’t want self-registration anyway, but maybe welcome needs to send email when the user accepts a shell-generated invite?

Is the out-of-the-box install really working for everyone else?

Thanks,
-robin

Yes, it is working :wink:

Every container should have full outgoing Internet access, including external DNS resolution.
Please read here: https://docs.docker.com/network/drivers/bridge/.

You can use docker network ls to check that you’re using the “bridge” driver, docker network inspect repo-base_default to check Docker networking.
Also, did you install your self-hosted on a brand new server as advised, or an existing one? Does your server have a public, non-residential, dedicated IP address, with reverse PTR to it? Do you by any chance have some kind of filtering (iptables, ufw, …) enabled?

It’s a freshly-built VM, running Ubuntu 22 (fully updated before the Murena install). I made no additions other than snmp for my LibreNMS to monitor it. I’ll look at my snmp setup script; it does touch firewall settings.