Noob asks: Should I update an old phone before flashing with /e/?

I’m finally about to do it… upgrading from a Samsung S2 Android (had it 7 long years) to an S3 LTE that I will flash with /e/. I need to know; is it best to upgrade the firmware of the ‘new’ S3 before installing /e/? If so, how do I go about that? I’d generally prefer not to link to Play as I’ve managed so far (hence the S2 is 7 years without an update and I have no experience of doing it). If I must attach to Play, then so be it.

I’m an utter noob and I know I can potentially brick the S3, but I’m going for it. Never flashed anything before, except for pwning an ancient iPhone that I had before the S2.

Samsung GT-i9305
Android Version 4.3
Kernel 3.0.31-2569006

Any other first-time advice very welcome.

I don’t think it is absolutely necessary, but I recommend to install the latest StockROM version 4.4.4 Kitkat anyway. Especially bootloader and modem/radio are updated with it.

If your personal computer is running with Windows® 7, 8.1 or 10:

1. Download Samsung’sTool ODIN3 v3.14.1 and Android USB Driver for Windows and install it.

2. Download the latest Samsung firmware Android 4.4.4 Kitkat of your country for the Galaxy S III (LTE / International) - “i9305” and flash it for example with Samsung’sTool ODIN3.

3. With ODIN3 you can also install the necessary TWRP for i9305 => twrp-3.3.1-0-i9305.img.tar.

4. With TWRP Recovery you can as a last step install /e/ OS e-0.7-n-2019121734423-dev-i9305.zip.

If your personal computer is running with IOS or Linux, you can follow these instructions, for example.

In addition to countless step-by-step flash instructions, many videos in numerous languages can also be found on the WWW. Search words could be: GT-i9305 LineageOS custom ROM

Yes you should install the latest stock firmware, and maybe boot it until the configuration page (no need to go further, but you can test everything is working if you want).

This howto could help :