Personnal domain name

Hi everyone,

I’d like to regain my privacy a bit so I’m looking for an “easy” cloud and mail solution.
I have a personnal domain name that I would like to use for my cloud (I wanted it to be Nextcloud because I heard nice things), but may be ecloud, and I also want to use the domain name for my emails (and alliases).

I wonder if I can use it for the emails in an easy way (not install a mail server that can be jeopardized or attacked) with Murena ?
Also, is there another way than selfhost the cloud on a VPS but still benefit from my domain name and have it in a “private” way ?

I’m a beginner but I want to try :wink:

Thanks in advance,
Antoine

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

The most important for me is to be able to use my domain name for my mail adresses and alliases (for me and my girlfriend if possible). The private cloud is not a priority.

Hi Antoine,

Yes you can use any DNS domain for email, as long as it is provided by a registrar involved in propagation, and you have access to records (AKA zone).
Note: this is known to work with 1st-level domains (xxx.com, xxx.net, etc), I never tried with subdomains (xxx.anyprovider.com).

Of course next question to come is: where, how?

The selfhosted Murena Cloud setup is quite straightforward, as long as you carefully read the doc and fulfill the prerequisites.

Once installed and after optional tuning, it’s effortless to run (call it “Fire and Forget” :smiley: ).

About hosting by a provider and privacy:

• for enhanced privacy, you may rent a physical server instead of a VPS, but it’s way more expensive. As these hardware are often too powerful for a simple selfhosted, you may share with friends or other activities, for the sake of profitability
  • whatever is the underlying hardware, network interception is very unlikely as everything is encrypted unless you choose otherwise