Public wifi connected but no internet

While traveling last month across Europe I’ve very often faced a problem where a public wifi with no password was able to connect but it had no internet access. I am talking places like coffee shops with free wifi or the german rail wifi. it was quite a bummer for me because I had no internet access and apparently others with Android phones or iPhones were able to use the service easily. I am using Samsung GalaxyS9 with latest /e/ OS version and I am happy to debug this and solve it but I would need some guidance as I am not familiar with Android, but otherwise I am a developer with a linux box and adb ready.

I tried restarting and reconncting as well as forgetting those networks but those simple steps did not help ever in cases where the public wifi had a password all worked well.

1 Like

Regarding german rail: Have you read their guidance?

After connecting to the wifi networks, did you get a notification that you’ve to login into a wifi portal? If yes, did you tap on this notification and login/acknowledge the terms and conditions?

Most of the time I have to use the offered DNS of the public network to get redirected to the accept-terms-page, then the packets of my wifi card get routed to the internet. If I set my own DNS, that sort of thing can’t work. Official public wifis in germany employ this kind of user agreement.

3 Likes

No wifi portal notification I only got notification stating that I am connected but there is no internet.

I assume that there was always a portal behind every such wifi but for some reason it did not direct me that way and I did not know where to go to load the portal login page.

I have never tampered with my DNS settings so I haven’t checked this scenario but it would explain it. I will go and try to test it somewhere around like starbucks or sometyhing similar.

No I haven’t as I was not aware of it. But will keep it at hand next time, thanks.