Recovery mode inaccessible - bootloop - no /e/ logo

Thank you in advance to anyone reading this! I’ve been using /e/OS since 2019 without a hiccup, but after installing the latest build for my Pixel XL on April 18th the phone started randomly rebooting out of the OS. It’s now at the point where it hangs on the unlocked Google screen and enters a bootloop.

I was able to enter recovery mode and do an adb sildeload of the latest build. I did this because I could not turn on Developer Mode due to the bootloop. This got me back into the /e/OS once. I was able to enable USB Debugging and USB file transfer which I immediately used to backup some photos. After the file transfer to my PC was completed the OS randomly rebooted again and now I can’t even get into recovery mode.

I read that updating TWRP can fix this issue (I’m using something from 2019). When recovery mode worked it was a black screen with a big LineageOS logo and only 4 icons to click (reboot, advanced, restore & backup I think). However, I can’t get to recovery mode to install TWRP. I’ve tried with the USB cable connected to the PC, I’ve tried without the cable, I’ve tried plugging in the cable at various points. No luck.

From the bootloader screen (the one with the Android robot on its back and the belly door open) I tried running the following:
C:\adb>fastboot flash recovery twrp.img
Sending ‘recovery’ (27545 KB) OKAY [ 0.689s]
Writing ‘recovery’ (bootloader) Flashing active slot “_a”
FAILED (remote: ‘partition [recovery] doesn’t exist’)
fastboot: error: Command failed

C:\adb>adb reboot bootloader
error: no devices/emulators found

The bootloader is unlocked and I still get the warning screen about not being able to check the device for corruption right before the unlocked Google screen appears.

Again, thank you to anyone who can give me some guidance. I’m using an old iPhone and miss my /e/OS dearly! ;p