Requesting Samsung Galaxy A8

I’ve been using Samsung Galaxy A8 for three years now and I love it.
Unfortunately, Android updates have taken up my whole memory of 32 GB. It is so laggy and barely usable now. I’ve decided to switch to e OS but I didn’t found it in supported devices. I hope you will soon release e OS build for this phone too.

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

1 Like

Yes please! +1 in the line!

1 Like

Against the obsolescence of my phone, please take an interest in the galaxy A8

1 Like

As always, start @ XDA to seek for a LOS-based custom builds:

Than post them here to facilitate \e\ builders.

Of course you can also ask XDA builders to help.

Hi there,

I’m using an A8 as well and I managed to install the latest /e/OS on it. Unfortunately, there are some issues with the WiFi and connection to internet and even worse, there are random reboots. I suppose that the vendor has to be updated but it was already difficult to find an image on the web since most of the downloads aren’t available anymore.
Does anybody have an idea how to get around this?
Thanks a lot
Cheers

Hi @Bugatti welcome to the /e/ forum.

Please can you clarify which /e/ ROM you managed to flash.

Are you able to confirm the devicecode of your device?

https://doc.e.foundation/support-topics/build-e#3-find-your-devicecode

Thanks @aibd, I’m glad to get this fast answer!

I flashed the following OS : /e/OS 1.0-20220528189323 (1.0-q-20220528189323-dev-treble_arm64_avN) and I can read out the device ID (=devicecode?) using the app but my phone is «unknown» under settings/about phone.
Does this answer to your question ?

Thanks again for your help!
Cheers

Thanks @Bugatti, it is always nice to know the devicecode for devices in the #e-devices:request-a-device section.

With a GSI, a generic ROM, the devicecode is not really significant to the performance of the ROM.