Samsung Galaxy S9+ help request

Hi everyone,

My name’s Buffy and I’m a total newbie when it comes to operating systems and programming and all this. But I am really concerned with privacy and really want to get e/OS on my phone.

I bought a Samsung Galaxy S9+ especially for this purpose, downloaded the software to my laptop and then followed every instruction to the letter. The software recognised the phone and I found the easy install system incredibly helpful. Every step of the way it was competely accurate in describing what I would see. The steps were really clear, I followed them and I got all the way through to the congratulations screen saying it was all done.

The trouble is, now I’ve booted up the phone, when I look in the settings it is still saying my OS is Android!! Did I do something wrong? I was absolutely sure that I followed every instruction for boththe computer and the phone because I was impressed with how clear they were.

I know nobody can see so it’s gonna be difficult for you to offer any advice but can anyone offer any pearls of wisdom?

Thanks ever so much.

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

Hello Buffy, and welcome !
If you did see the bouncing “e” and then the “my data is my data” message at boot time … then all’s right, your phone is running /e/OS :slight_smile:
And actually /e/OS is an Android-derived OS : it’s based on Android Open Source Project (aka AOSP).
Just as the “average” Google Android … but without Google propietary software layers that steel your data :slight_smile:
Enjoy !

Congrats and welcome !!
I see no problem here like @jpmeuret said /e/OS is an android OS too.

Angain welcome in the /e/ team :slight_smile:

Buffy, simple check, go into Settings>System updates, it should say /e/OS. You may even have an update waiting.

Thanks so much for the replies! Sadly I saw the bouncing e on my computer screen but not on my phone.