Samsung Galaxy S9 : Successfull Install /e/ version Q

Hello
I will try to share my experience on the install of /e/ Q on my Samsung Galaxy S9 (starlte - SM-G960FD)

Coming from Android 9 :

• Phone is a Galaxy S9 in Android 9 stock rom (for some strange reason, I was never able to upgrade in Android 10 via OTA), so I used it as with the security patches of 2019.
  • I have some experience in using adb etc (as I used to install a Lineage on an old Moto E 2015 LTE), but i cannot be considered an expert.
  • I decided to move the Galaxy S9 to /e/. (probably for the same reasons as you - more privacy - more battery)

On the road:

• I tryed to follow the install instructions on the site (which are not crystal clear as they mix O/Q version) and it was not successfull
  • I used the Easy installer soft (0.12.3 beta) and it worked very well. The step by step is very well described. To my point of view, if you read the instructions carefully, you will succeed to install /e/ on a Galaxy S9.
  • But I was a little bit desappointed to have installed an Oreo based version of /e/ (the stable version as per today - 11 june 2021-) . The /e/ Oreo works perfectly , but I wanted to install Q (still in dev) !!!

On the road again:

• I tried to install Q on top of Oreo (via the TWRP provided during the /e/ Oreo install ) but an error rised (saying that phone should be in 10 version to accept to flash /e/ Q) .
  • I spent some time browsing and it seems that other people experienced the same (so its confirmed - not possible to install /e/ Q on top /e/ oreo via TWRP (at least today)

Back to Android

• I then decided to flash latest Android for my phone
  • Get the latest ROM : use of Frija-v1.4.3 and download the 5GO of SM-G960F_2_20210511125707 (mine is XEF version for France)
  • unzip the files (AP_G960FXXUFFUE1xxx.tar.md5, BL_G960FXXUFFUE1xxx.tar.md5, CP_G960FXXUFFUE1xxx.tar.md5, CSC_OMC_OXM_G960FXXUFFUE1xxx.tar.md5 and HOME_CSC_OMC_OXM_G960FXXUFFUE1xxx.tar.md5)