Signal update: which 'store' to use

I have been using Signal without any problem for more than 2 months now.
Now if I open Signal a banner informs me that I have x days left to upgrade to a new version.
I can click on the banner and only APKPure and F-Droid are available for updating the app.
But I installed from the /e/ playstore. And the /e/ playstore is giving me no possibility to upgrade.
I find it a bit confusing. Are all installations, /e/, APKPure and F_Droid identical?
What should I do?

Regards,
André

Hi André, you can use Aurora Store (install it from /e/ appstore).
Then, it will update to the last release of Signal.
For me is working without problems.
Bye

1 Like

Hi Claudio,

Thanks for replying.
I don’t want to add an extra store to /e/.
I have 1) the appstore included in the installation, 2)APKPure and 3) FDroid.
I still did’nt read the answer to my questions:

• why does the original appstore offer an update?
  • are all apk’s in the various appstores identical?

Regards,
André

The apks in app installer , Fdroid or aurora stores may be of the same app but with different versions and the app installed from say fdroid can only be updated usually through the same store. This can be confusing . Ideally App Installer the default /e/ store should check which apps are installed through it and only then update. There are some bugs raised for the App Installer on Gitlab.

1 Like

Thanks!

So, now I know that the apk’s may differ.
And I know that more than one appstore may offer an update.
And it is becoming more confusing:
If I open APKPure I am offered Signal 4.63.3
Opening FDroid will give bring to the app ‘Langis’.
Knowing that Langis is not identical to Signal I will only use APKPure to update.
Not the way I want it, but it’s the best choice I think.
I hope that in the near future the unwanted confusion will be solved.

Regads,
André

For me, the /e/ Apps Installer works very well and Signal is updated correctly.

Thanks for replying.

In my situation: