The best communicator / messenger

I am in search of the best communicator option which protects our privacy and at the same time is Open Source, when the developer has nothing to hide :thinking: I started playing with Telegram and Signal. Telegram is Open Source, easy to be founded in F-droid :grin: But is has some negative opinions in mass media, that it is used mainly by criminals and negative personas :thinking: Signal on the other hand is closed source (available in Aurora, but not in F-droid) and text messages have no notifications, when Google services or microG are not available. This is what I have experienced and I wonder if there is any other communicator worth trying, as it seems that each messenger is wrong because of something :thinking:
It is even more surprising for me, that Signal is recommended by Snowden as a private one, while it is not working properly without Google which has nothing in common with privacy :thinking:
What communicators do you and recommend and use daily?

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

2 Likes

Search for Signal-FOSS in F-Droid.

just because an app isn’t available on F-droid, doesn’t mean it’s closed source.

3 Likes

Signal IS open source. Telegram’s client is too but its server is closed source & proprietary. Furthermore, all Signal to Signal messages are encrypted whereas, by default, Telegram to Telegram messages are not. If you want to use a centralised messaging service which is open sourced and encrypted by default there is no option but Signal.

4 Likes

I would highly recommend Threema as a not so well known alternative from Switzerland.

Threema got open source recently — except of the Server as far as I know. Look here: Threema - Wikipedia
and here: Threema - Secure and Private Messenger