Upgrading Fairphone 4 to 1.17-t

Hi everyone,

Sorry if the question is dumb or already asked, but I couldn’t find a proper answer to it in the doc… I am still learning how to search and the right terms to use.

I have a fairphone 4 that just updated to e/os 1.17-s (Android 12 if I am not mistaken). I would like to upgrade to e/os based on Android 13, which should be e/os 1.17-t, right?

From what I gathered, this has to be done manually for now, but I can’t find a specific guide for my phone. I found guides with codenames (like this one: https://doc.e.foundation/devices/kebab/upgrade) but I don’t know what type of phone this is.

Is there a guide for FP4 already somewhere?

And additional question: can I perform the upgrade while conserving data or will it be a fresh new install? (I back up the data anyway of course if case anything goes wrong, but if I could avoid the reinstallation of everything, that would be nice).

Thanks for the help!

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

You find the instructions here:
https://doc.e.foundation/devices/FP4/upgrade

However, I would wait with upgrade for Fairphone 4 from S to T until its official. The upgrade should keep all the data and settings when all goes fine.
Some time ago I did try to manually update my Fairphone 4 via adb sideload to T, but after successful upgrade I was stuck in fastboot mode. Luckily I could downgrade to S again…
So I really would suggest everyone to wait until upgrade is final and available over OTA

Thanks a lot!

I didn’t realize that the official build wasn’t up yet. I saw the release notes for 1.17-T and thought that was it. Then yes, I will wait for sure. When it’s released, I would use the same guide, right?

I am a bit worried about the warning at the beginning of this page, though, about “downgrading smartphones on S”… Is it a general warning on all pages? S to T should not be considered a downgrade.