What data do app trackers have access to?

I’m looking at an app that, according to Exodus, has several trackers:

• AppsFlyer
  • Google Firebase Analytics
  • MixPanel
  • Bugsnag

My question is, if I don’t give the app any permissions (e.g. Contacts, Microphone, Camera, Storage, etc.), then what data do the trackers have access to?

Good question!!! :roll_eyes:

I think if you limit its activity, denying all your data, it is sure that the app couldn’t do his hidden job, I mean steal your data;
BUT this is in theory, because you should analyze all its data traffic to see what is transmitting and to whom…so it’s better that you don’t install that app :skull_and_crossbones:

1 Like

Thanks @anon38440295. I’m not an app developer, so I don’t understand very well what kind of access restrictions there are for apps. For instance, for the above app, if I look under App permissions -> All permissions, then after listing the permissions that I can disable, there is a category Other app capabilities, which lists the following:

• have full network access
  • view network connections
  • Use fingerprint hardware
  • prevent phone from sleeping
  • control vibration
  • change your audio settings
  • Pair with Bluetooth devices
  • run at startup
  • listen to C2DM messages

On the surface, none of this seems too bad, but I’m wondering if I’m missing something.

I’m not a developer either, so sometimes I can not go beyond the good sense and to be a little bit intuitive :blush: but I think that sub menu refers to the same permission that you have denied or granted before… I think…

Anyway, until android 9 on Los and /e/ you can use Privacy Guard that is a GREAT tool to further filter the permissions you want to give to the app

Thanks @anon38440295 for the tip about Privacy Guard.