What is the best calendar to migrate to?

I am a newbie with /e/ and not particularly “litterate” in the tech lingo … so my apology for the following ‘basic’ message … yet circumvoluted! At the moment i keep changing my sim card from my /e/ fairphone to my android samsung as I am not quite trusting i have everything running on me /e/ phone!

I am currently using:

• thunderbird on my Mac (moved from macmail) for emails (proton and a couple of work ones)
  • thunderbird calendar (which I am not sure is online anywhere so at the moment each entry in thunderbird I invite myseld on my googlecalendar too to make sure it is saved somewhere!?)
  • I still have a google calendar (not on my phone though) and happy to get rid of it once I have an alternative sorted out.
  • I have moved from googledrive to nextcloud for data storage

=> Which calendar could I use so it can synchronise between thunderbird on my desktop, and my fairphone /e/ ? Proton calendar? Nextcloud? /e/? other???

It feels all a bit mundled up …
Basically I’d like to be able to have calendars between laptop and phone as well as being able to share calendar items with work and family.
Not sure if it all makes sense.

Thank you for decrypting all this!

Not sure I understood it properly, but any DAV calendar should work.

I would start using the calendar embedded in /e/ cloud.

Be prepared to install DAVx5 to synchronise it. AFAIK, the /e/ account (a fork of DAvx5) do not work properly on some devices.

And to install “cannotRememberWhat-I-will-tell-you-later” on Thunderbird.

1 Like

My answer to your question might get a bit technical, but I hope, it will help.
Calendar software is usually separated in two parts (Client–server model - Wikipedia):

• a server, that stores all calendar data
  • one or more clients that access the calendar data of the server (read + write)

Calendar Servers can be:

• google calendar as you pointed out in your third bullet
  • Nextcloud with the Calendar-addon
  • sabre/dav