YouTube ReVanced compatibility

The recent telegram buzz about reviving the abandoned YouTube Vanced has come to my attention. Developers has made a youtube patcher designed to mod the factory youtube to remove ads, sponsor segments, add dark mode, and pictures-in-picture. It is called YouTube reVanced.

Now to my concern. The open source option for YouTube before reVanced gained steam is newpipe. I have been using it for several months. It is OK but far inferior to any version of Vanced ever made. The problem is that when I tried to install ReVanced on /e/ it shuts down immediately.

Can someone with dev experise verify if reVanced is compatible with /e/. If not what could I do to adapt it to /e/

Revanced official sites: ReVanced · GitHub
Telegram: Contact @ReVancedTeam1

1 Like

Hi @Tech-e1

Just out of curiosity: I have never used Vanced, so when I read that NewPipe "

"
it makes me wonder if Vanced has any features that I would enjoy (please consider that I am really a casual user of such kind of apps)…
Thank you in advance

@Tech-e1
It is not an /e/ problem. If you are/were familar with Vanced then you know the non-root version requires the standalone Vanced microG. That is mentioned near the bottom of every release posted in the Telegram channel you linked.

Just tried it myself on Havoc ROM. ReVanced crashed immediately. Uninstalled (just because), installed Vanced microG, reinstalled ReVanced, and it runs fine.
So, just install Vanced microG and you’ll be good. Now, as in the past, there’s no conflict with the microG in the ROM. Different package name, only useful with Vanced/ReVanced.

EDIT: Installed on /e/. Same as above so it works fine.

Vanced/ReVanced YouTube is Google’s YouTube modded with additional features as mentioned by @Tech-e1 .