Add UnifiedPush to /e/OS to make it possible for developers to avoid FCM and better support F-Droid applications

I was just reading this blog post titled “UnifiedPush: a decentralized, open-source push notification protocol”. Being an Android developer myself, I am aware of the challenge to support push notifications and that there is no real alternative to Google’s Firebase Cloud Messaging (FCM). Currently all of this works thanks to MicroG but we are still depended on Google for this key feature on /e/OS.

I have never worked with UnifiedPush nor am I related to the project in any form, but wouldn’t it be a great to include an open source push notification service additionally to MicroG in /e/OS? Currently I would not use UnifiedPush in one of my Android applications as it would be to hard to explain to a user why they have to install an additional application + setup just to receive push notifications. This would change if /e/OS out of the box supports a decentralized, open-source push notification protocol and in addition F-Droid applications would also get much better support. What do you guys think and what could be the next steps?

18 Likes

I think this would be a great idea. I’m looking into setting up unified push on my personal Nextcloud instance and, as you mention, at the moment this will require the installation of an additional app on all devices that use my cloud server. Luckily that’s only a couple of phones, so it should be alright. But having this integrated in the OS would certainly be helpful. Especially if other apps would start offering UP.

2 Likes

It would only make sense if /e/ also served unified push on their murena cloud platform. Otherwise people could find that they’ve install apps that would want to use the service, but without a default push server.

2 Likes