Considering the big Switch, some questions before I do

So, I’ve been a long-time Samsung user, but am more and more tempted to switch to a Fairphone in the Murena variant, so, E/OS. I support it’s core tenets and while I’m not a heavy app or google user, I will still find ways to completely cut the big G out of my life.

Some questions I have been able to answer, but many are still open, I’m hoping to find the answers here.

• When I use the app lounge in the ‘free’ (anonymous) form, I can only download free apps (logically). Because my aim is to, one day, completely remove my google account, paid apps are off the table. But what about apps that are free to download and offer optional subs? Stuff like Spotify for instance? I have a separate subscription with them, not tied to any facebook or google stuff, can I download the app through the app lounge and log in with my own credentials without needing a google account?

• The same question extends to many other apps such as 2FA ones. Can I use the 2FA apps from companies like Steam and Blizzard? Do I need to abandon those?

• Banking apps? NFC for payment? I won’t be using google pay of course, but are banking apps still available for use?

• What is the update cycle like?

• How customisable is the OS? I’ve never rooted a device before and I’m certainly not in the habit of hacking my Android experience, but I do not like that a commercial android takes away so much of my sovereignty on a purchased device. What’s the E/OS experience here?

Normally I’d say I will try all this myself but a FF is not a cheap device so I need to be reasonably sure of my choice before I take the plunge. For reference, I’m coming from an S23 Ultra device though that’s mostly because of the battery, I have the entire phone set and configured for max battery life (about 3 days when used sparingly). I do use it for navigation when underway and for practical things like 2FA, electric car charging, browsing and pictures.