e/OS install/sideload fails in recovery "because it's a downgrade" OnePlus 9

Hi there! I’ve just received my “brand new” (refurbished but as new) OnePlus 9. It was stock A12 (didn’t note which version but some april 2022 update if I remember well. I’ve unlocked the bootloader, installed e-Recovery (and tried LineageOS recovery as well, but it’s the same).

Then I started sideloading the latest e-1.6-s-20221201239247-dev-lemonade.zip based on A12 as well. After a few minutes in recovery my phone tells me:

Installing update…
E:Current SPL: 2022-11-05 Target SPL: 2022-10-05 this is considered a downgrade
E: Denying OTA because it’s SPL downgrade

Perfect. I’ve formatted already so now I have no bootable system and still it’s a downgrade? What to do? I’m a user with some skills but not an expert. I hope someone can help me quickly. Thanks!

ADD ON: I’ve tried the previous 1.5-version as well: same result. Since I’m not an expert: for download there are 2 files which I have no idea what to do with: MD5 and SHA256. Would those help to perform a “downgrade”?

I don’t have this device, but the /e/OS install instructions for it hint towards it being a so-called A/B device, with two slots for installed OSes (to enable OS updates in the background while you still use the device, user data is not doubled and stays as is).

What and how exactly did you format?

The recovery will be booted on the currently active OS slot, installing via ADB sideload will then be done on the inactive slot (seen this myself on my A/B device). Meaning, if a version of the prior OS remains on the inactive slot (and if it’s out-of-the-box stock Android, it should be the same version on both slots initially), my guess is that this would be what the downgrade check is checking against.

You can change the active slot with fastboot.
fastboot getvar current-slot will tell you the active slot (a or b)