Early user experience with the Fairphone3

Hello, I am a new (and happy) user of /e/ on a Fairphone 3 and would like to share my feedback.

First of all, a little background to understand the kind of user I am :

• I bought the Fairphone 3 with eOS preinstalled, and I used it for a few days
  • I am not one to install thousands of apps on my phone, I usually stick to the few I like, and I rarely play games on my phone.
  • I keep my phones as long as possible (last one lasted 4 years, still works but kinda distrust Huawei).
  • Since a few years now, I mainly use FOSS and privacy friendly apps on my computer and phone: KDE desktop and a lot of f-droid apps on my old phone.
  • I’m interested in computer security, so paranoia is a second nature.
  • I love UI design and customization (I’m an app developer), so if an app is poorly designed or has no customization option, I might complain a lot.

DISCLAIMER: I am going to be picky, but this doesn’t mean I don’t like the OS. The following feedback is here to give my 2 cents about the project in the hopes it improves in the future.

So now that you understand my mindset, here is what I think about /e/.

First impressions

Pretty good, I expected worse seeing the OS is still in Beta. I can send messages, call, browse the internet and ring alarms without any bugs. Setup was very easy, all went well. UI is responsive and fluid.

Overall Experience

The first thing I did was navigate the settings (and enable dark mode). Most of what I found was good, but a few things bothered me. The phone seemed to use a lot less the internet when idle than my previous phone, which is perfect!

• The bad: Lack of a common theme/layout/colors for preinstalled apps.