Echo after new install - possible fix or should I buy another phone?

I am new to the e community. This is a great privacy and open phone platform! I want to soon get rid of my iphone, keep using /e/ and build some more for family.

I am looking for advice on a problem which seems to have been reported to Gitlab some time ago.

I recently ran Easy Installer on a Galaxy S7 Edge. The person I call hears a loud echo of their own voice when I am using speakerphone. I have tried the e-dialer with SIP, Zoiper, and Linphone. All apps have echo on speakerphone.

There is an open issue on S7 but it is a year old with no recent activity.

There is another similar issue open on other model phones.

How long might I expect for this issue to be addressed? If I buy a Galaxy S9 and install /e/ is there a high probability of the same bug showing up?

thanks…Scott

(hero2lte, SM-G935FD)
system version 0.17-20210531117699

Maybe give it till realesed?:point_down:

1 Like

I’ll wait and give it another try. Thanks!

1 Like

I wouldn’t be too hopeful. Echo on voip is a long standing problem regardless of whether speakerphone or bluetooth devices are used. It’s not specific to /e/ nor to any particular phone but exists in many custom ROMs. I understand it has something to do with OEM noise cancellation.

1 Like

I am setting up all our phones for VOIP so this could put things on hold for me. Are there any OEM phones that do not experience the echo problem with voip?

I don’t know,. All of my experience is with Samsung phones which, as far as voip on Lineage OS based ROMs is concerned, I do not recommend.

As an alternative it’s possible to use XMPP for ‘data’ calls. There can be an echo there as well, but messenger apps such as Conversations and Signal have their own echo cancellation which can remedy the problem in many cases.