Expanding self-hosted storage

An absolute beginner in all this, I’ve successfully managed to figure my way through various hurdles and got /e/ installed on my OnePlus 7, set up my own self-hosted instance of eCloud on Hetzner and finally got things working. Files, calendars and contacts seem to be syncing, so I think I’m mostly there (I’ll worry about email later).

But now I realise I need more storage, so I added a 100GB volume to Hetzner server and am trying to get it added as an external storage source via the NextCloud UI.

• I’ve configured the volume as recommended by Hetzner, let’s call it /mnt/folder
  • I’ve installed the external storage app in NextCloud and added /mnt/folder as a local source. Instead of the expected green check, it’s showing a red error symbol, so I checked NextCloud docs, which suggest running the following:
sudo chown -R www-data:www-data /path/to/localdir
sudo chmod -R 0750 /path/to/localdir

and

sudo -u www-data bash
cd /path/to/localdir
mkdir data

Following all this and power-cycling my server and I still get the error, so something’s not right. I don’t really understand this www-data user - I guess it’s built-in to NextCloud? Is the config different for eCloud?

My Linux knowledge is very basic and I’m pretty new to all this, so I’m treading new ground here. If anyone has any insight into what might be wrong or something obvious I’m missing, please help.

Hi,

I think it would be easier to move your NextCloud Docker container storage to the new volume, rather than using NextCloud external storage.
And it will be simpler to maintain and use :wink:

I can help with that, all that we will need is your Nextcloud data volume mapping :

• open /mnt/repo-base/docker-compose.yml with your favorite reader/editor
  • locate the “nextcloud” service
  • copy the /var/www/data volume mapping and post it back here

Example :

nextcloud:
    image: registry.gitlab.e.foundation/e/infra/ecloud/nextcloud:316db4e0
    container_name: nextcloud