How may we help add missing apps to Apps store?

In Aurora, there is this useful but opaque option to request an app to be added in the store. I have absolutely no idea how this works back end, and how manual/automated this process is.

So forgive my naive question, but how may we help adding apps to the Aurora store, if even possible?

I would personally offer help with great pleasure. I am a software dev with very limited experience in the Android ecosystem.

are you really meaning aurora store ?? I think you are talking from a apps store or not ??
Aurora is a play store replacement. So no apps could be requested

OK maybe I got it wrong then. I thought the “Apps” app in /e/ was Aurora, but apparently it is not.

So what I really am talking about is indeed the “Apps” app in /e/, the one in which you can request a missing app to be added.

Edit: modified topic to make it clearer.

Ok, thx.
If you request an app the e.foundation will add it to the apps repository. It’s no automated process so it will need some time til you will.find it in Apps.

If you need a app from g-play store, use Aurora :wink:

OK so nothing we could do to help then?
Is there some documentation about /e/'s Apps store?

Allow me to mention: the “Apps” app in /e/ is rather controversial among /e/ users.

Many users, myself included, plead instead of integrating the F-Droid Store better - like with LineageOS-for microG.

I think I see your point: F-droid as the Play Store alternative.
Though I would agree that focusing efforts on a single solution is usually the best place to start, in this special case I have mixed feelings. There are lots of key apps missing from F-droid, and I think this simple fact could definitely slow down adoption of /e/ :frowning:

How many of the more than 60,000 apps from the in-house /e/ app repository consistently observe privacy and data protection?

I plead for quality instead of quantity in “Apps”. Less is more.

1 Like