How to build a 'Custom Build' with docker

Hello
I would like to build a custom build for my unsupported device (which is similar to Galaxy A3 a3xelte). I read your documentation https://doc.e.foundation/how-tos/build-e. Although I work in IT as systems programmer I feel a little bit helpless because Android in not ‘my’ OS. Please try to answe my question to push me forward:

1. does the docker image contain the source for all devices that /e/ actually supports?
  2. does ‘custom build’ mean that I need to write my own code? Or is it possible to custom build for an unsupported device by just selecting a CUSTOM_PACKAGE that supports my certain kind of hardware? (example: the supported a3xelte has a different chipset, but is mostly similar to my unsupported device. So do I just have to search for a device with ‘my’ chipset and select that paricular CUSTOM-PACKAGE for my custom build?)

Thank you

2 Likes

Ok, for eOS building you have to differentiate:

1. supported and unsupported devices
    — a supported device is found in download section of e.foundation and a device which is found in LineageOS download section
    — a unsupported device is not find in lineageOS download section

2. Docker contains no source code. The sources code is downloaded via docker script. The docker image is only a handful of commands.

3. For supported devices you have found the HowTo. For unsupported devices you can go this way [HOWTO] Build /e/ without docker for non LineageOS supported devices

4. For an unsupported device you need to find the
    – device sources
    – kernel sources
    – vendor sources
    all these sources must have he same branch (pie or oreo or nougat) as the build sources
    and all theses sources must fit the lineage build rules

3 Likes

Thank you harvey186 for your quick answer.
So why is ‘at least 250GB of spare hard drive’ needed for?

As I have written, the docker command (or the build script) is downoading the needed sources and they are such big