How to ensure long version support for new phone

(edited for clarity)

Hi all,

I intend to buy a new phone shortly and use it with /e/OS and would love to have feedback on my reasoning for which version to choose. I’m new to /e/OS but I’ve been using LineageOS+microG for a few years.

I’d like to get a device whose OS version will be supported by apps as long as possible as one of the deciding factors for me to change phone is some apps don’t support my Android 7 phone anymore

So I’m thinking I should start with the latest, namely an S build. I’m under the impression that I would be fine with a dev build (currently mandatory for S except with the FP4). I’m not specifically looking for extra work (ideally I’d like to use Easy Installer to skip some thinking) but I’ve installed LineageOS on my current phone so I can handle minor trouble. I’m under the impression that dev-build instability is not on the order of “bluetooth is missing” and more like “one non-essential app might be broken and also you can’t sue us etc.”. Am I on the right track?

On the other hand, maybe I don’t need an S build right now because I could get a phone with a stable R build and get an OTA upgrade to S some time in the future and it will run smoothly? But can I know in advance which devices will get this type of update? Could I even look further in the future and buy a phone that has a good chance of being upgraded to version T and later?

Which country are you in? Might limit the options.

I’m in France. Does that imply anything?

For instance Fairphone does not ship and support everywhere.

1 Like

But in France yeah and if he wants, he can purchase it on Murena shop

Indeed I already checked the Murena shop and saw the FP4 but I’d like to know about all options among the many supported phones. I see good things in the OnePlus 8 and the Pixel 4a for instance, if we look at devices with Easy Installer support, but I don’t know if they’re the best choices by OS version criteria.