How to use flashtool on Linux

Hi,
I want to go back to the stock ROM on my Sony but I don’t know how to do that.
I read that I need to have FlashTool installed. I’m on Linux mint and I have no idea how it can work.
I also read that I need to change the udev rules but I don’t know how to do that.
Anyway I’m stuck here can anyone tell me how I can use Flashtool ?
I did a backup of my phone before flashing it with /e/. Maybe I don’t have to use Flashtool to re-install Sony ROM ?
I’m not good with all this, sorry, but if someone can tell me how to do, it would be wonderful

Which Sony phone?

First step would be to get XperiFirm for getting the ROM

These instructions for installing XperiFirm worked on ubuntu, but I have no idea with Mint.

Flashtool is a bit arduous, Newflasher would be easier if it was compatible with your phone…

My phone is a Sony Xperia xz1 compact

I think you would be ok with newflasher but I wil try to check. In any case you would need the firmware first.Have you already got XperiFirm? It can take some time to get set up and download the firmware.

I got it but when I put the last command ($ mono XperiFirm.exe) it’s open a window and searching and then it says :
Error: Failed to connect to the server. Check your internet connexion and/or proxy settings

Ah. Hmmm. Me too!!
First time that’s happened. I haven’t used this for months. Have to see if we can find the problem. :grimacing:

Sorted this end.I had older version and there have been some developments with the software (see the last two pages of the XDA XF thread.

Run the command in your XF folder (for 64 bit pc)

mono XperiFirm-x64.exe

See if it works…

I’m sorry I don’t understand what you’re saying. Where do I find the XperiFirm-x64.exe ?
I have the v5.4.0 and there is no such file called XperiFirm-x64.exe

The older versions not working for me. Same problem as you reported.

Download latest version and you will understand the previous posts