Is Firefox a good choice?

Bonjour / Grüezi

I’ve been using Firefox on my PC’s for many years on various OS ( XP,W10 :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: , Ubuntu :smiling_face_with_three_hearts: ) , i am used & and i wish to add it on my e phone (S9) . I made some searchs in this forum and this item seems an issue for debate .

My requests are

• privacy & no google , facebook and other gangsters :wink:
  • re-use my actual Ffox profile as far as possible ( passwords , bookmarks … )
  • use a master password for security
  • have functionnality like like noscript , adblock , ghostery

What are your advices ?

• Firefox
  • Firefox focus ( = klar ? )
  • Other

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

1 Like

https://f-droid.org/en/packages/org.mozilla.fennec_fdroid/

3 Likes

For me Brave is the best

1 Like

For a while I use Opera (with the most private options) which is now for some years a Chromium based browser.
The issue with Chromium is that you use Google based technologies even if they are open source.
Of course, that doesn’t mean Chromium based browser is not private! but this mean we give more and more weight to Google in development of any solution (OS, browser, coding for AI, …), everywhere! And for me it’s an issue.
So on my side, I’m thinking days after days to switch to Firefox to promote and support alternative to Google.

3 Likes

See:

Anti-Gafam is not likely to choose a chromium-based browser.

Chromium itself also makes connections to Google, unfortunately.
I agree that we need to use alternatives.

I think Chromimum based doesn’t mean you have connection to Google server.
Indeed, in /e/ the browser is Chromium based. But I guess everything related to connection to google has been removed. At least I hope!
So even if it’s based on Google technology it’s sure and private (no connection to Google) but that one need confirmation from someone.