Moto X4 - payton - bootloader unlock failure

Hi, I’m new to Android and anything this technical, but am trying to install /e/ for privacy reasons. I’ve been following the instructions as shown here. I’ve run into multiple problems shortly through the process, but have been able to work them out. The problem I’m still having trouble with is unlocking the bootloader. Moto’s website tells me:

and I don’t know where to go from there. Is that the nail in the coffin, or is there some way around this? I tried sunshine but got a failure message for testing the root, or something. I don’t know of any other alternative bootloader unlockers. Thoughts?

Hi @thatonedoge , I can’t really help as I have no experience with Moto’s, but have to say it is not looking good for your device!

Looks like you are fairly thorough so I’m sure you flicked the Enable OEM unlocking switch in the developer settings and you’ve probably checked out XDA forums as well. There’s a few threads on there such as this one and this that might give some insight.

If you were able to edit your thread title to include the device name Moto X4 that might help to attract a bit more help.

Good luck.

I think that in this thread we went through nearly all the available hoops to unlock this Moto! :slight_smile:

Unfortunately it doesn’t look like it. They’re stuck on the step for getting the keys- I have the keys, but they don’t work when I put them into Motorola’s website.

I have indeed checked those threads, no luck. Seems most people struggle with getting the keys in the first place, whereas I’m having difficulty making use of them. Anyone I’ve seen discussing the same issue has not found a solution other than getting a different phone.

This is disappointing, I had no idea there was some invisible, arbitrary factor that would mean I could or could not install /e/.

so you completed

1. fastboot oem get_unlock_data