Questions for a potential buyer

Hello everyone, I hope you are all having a good day!

I am interested in buying the Fairphone 3 with /e/ preinstalled.
However, I have some questions before buying, as I intend to keep this phone for a long time and I rarely buy phones.
I really want this phone as I do not trust at all my current one (Honor 5C, from Huawei), but if the answer to some of those questions are incompatible with my use, I might need to reconsider.

• Is the phone rooted, and if not, is it easy to root?
  • Is it stable enough for an everyday use (messaging, calls, web, videos)?
  • I am an app developer (with React Native right now), are there any things different from a stock android that will give me trouble for building apps? I can use emulators in last resort but a physical device is always better to test.
  • Will the Fairphone 3 continue to receive updates (security and android versions) a few years from now? My current phone (Honor 5C) is 4 years old and not in the best of shapes in this regard, which it is quite worrying.
  • Which version of Android is installed on the Fairphone 3, and will it be possible to upgrade as new versions roll out?

Thank you for your time, and sorry if this isn’t posted in the right category, I’m new around here.

Hi @Keplyx,

Let me answer the questions asked

The phone is not rooted. You can root it if you want to

The OS is the same as for all devices . We have been using it for a more than a year and it is quite stable. If there are bugs that can be reported and the dev team fixes them

There are some developers on the forum who can answer this question in case they have tried these options

Yes it will receive the latest updates and patches. We have some very old phone which are still receiving updates. As long as patches are available upstream you should receive them on /e/ as well.