Samsung Galaxy Note 4 SM-N910W8 (Snapdragon)

Support was or is dropped for the Exynos (treltexx) version. It looks like my phone will probably never be supported. :frowning: I’d like to help, but no idea where to start. I have some programming experience, but no device experience.

This would ideally or eventually include all (or as many as possible) Snapdragon based devices (depending upon radio support, etc):

• SM-N910A - USA on AT&T
  • SM-N910F - Europe on Unknown Carriers
  • SM-N910G - Australia, India, Singapore on Unknown Carriers
  • SM-N910P - USA on Sprint
  • SM-N910R4 - USA on US Cellular
  • SM-N910T - USA on T-Mobile
  • SM-N910V - USA on Verizon
  • SM-N910W8 - Canada on ~10 Carriers
  • SM-N9100 - China and Hong Kong on Unknown Carriers (aka Samsung Galaxy Note 4 Duos - dual SIM)

Reasons to support?

• Device spread across 3 of the most high-tech continents.
  • It’s the last Samsung phone with a replaceable battery.
  • It’s cheap, and plentiful on the market, new, and factory refurbs.
  • It handles LTE, whereas unmodified Note 3’s are being dropped from the US as 3G tech is dropped from network, so 4G LTE is the new minimum.
  • It’s plenty fast enough for everything most people need to do.
  • As little as a year ago, there were many XDA devs interested in support.

I’ll look into it and will try making a Q-build (LOS-17.1) this weekend.

Regards

Qualcomm SoCs don’t have unlockable bootloaders, so no chance to get custom ROMs running.

@Ludix But the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 SM-N9005/P was officially supported? Is that also Exynos only and not Snapdragon? The SM-N9005 was Snapdragon 800, vs the SM-N910W8 Snapdragon 805.

Also, found this 2 month old blog with links to ROMS and instructions for LineageOS 17.1 on SM-N910W8 and family. Is this site, blogger, or article credible?

Hmm, interesting. Normaly they can’t be unlocked, but this model may be different.

So best would be to wait for @itsclarence build and just try it out.

It’s ready.