Selfhosting or not Selfhosting

Hi Everyone,
I’m new to this /e/ wolrd and got my new FP3 yesterday. I already put the /e/ os on it an it work like a charm. cool stuff!

I do have a Synology NAS DS 1815+ and soon I will migrate to a RS1219+.

I read the topic about selfhosting and I do have questions about it.

On my NAS I could Install Mycloud without ubuntu, would this work as well with my FP3 instead of ecloud.global? So my phone would be connected to my nextcloud on my NAS at home without VM and Ubuntu, is this possible?
I just need to understand why, the “how to” is with ubuntu. I would like to have as much as possible datas on my own server and because I’m starting the setup I would like to do it the right way.

If a VM and installing Ubuntu is the only way to connect with my phones, so it will not bother me at all.

On my NAS I do have Contact and Calendar function, how can I connect them without using nextcloud?

thanks for the help

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

You can use EVERY cloud server. The connection for calendar and contacts sync is using caldav access. You can setup an CalDav account in eOS with your personal caldav address and everything works fine. For File sync you must have a look if there is a android client available. If not, you can use Davx5 or FolderSync app to get your file synced.

And I’m sure, you can also install a Nextcloud server on your NAS. Than the access is a bit easier

Wow very fast here, cool.

1. Not important, I like those things :slight_smile:
  2. I do have a ddns from synology, dose it work with it?
  3. I do have a Letsencrypt self signed certificate for my nas
  4. Not yet, but I’m thinking of doing it as well. One step after the other.
  5. I would say my knowledge is okay. I’m not a crack but I’m not a total newbee.
  6. yeah, I love secrets :slight_smile: