Cameras not working

Hi everyone, I’m new to smartphones and got a new FP3 just a few weeks ago. Installed /e/ on it following the instructions on the website + latest update and everything worked fine for some time now. But a few days ago, both cameras (rear/front) have stopped working. They seem to be just gone from the system. I get a black screen with an error massage when opening the the open camera app (see attached) and cant even select between front and rear camera. Even the flashlight icon is greyed out. I tried all the standard procedures described on the fairphone support page (clearing camera app cache & storage, rebooting to safe mode), but nothing changed. I also tried several alternative camera apps, but same result. In Jitsi, at least the microphone works. It seems a bit strange to me that both cameras are gone. Its a brand new phone, so there should be no reason for a hardware problem. Thx for any advice.

Hi, welcome in the community :slight_smile:

Did the issue show up after an update ?

If you don’t find any solution, you can report the issue on our gitlab with some logs attached. (Reboot your device, open the camera and create the log file.)

Hi @fzwin which build of the /e/ FP3 are you using.
Strange not seen any other FP3 user on the forum raise such a complain about both the cameras failing.

Hi, thx for your replies.
@Manoj, I’m using /e/ on 0.9-2020061158052-dev build, last updated it on 06/11/2020 from 0.9-2020051454091-dev build.
@Anonyme, I’m not entirely certain, if the problem showed up after the update. Not directly, I guess. I haven’t used the camera very often lately, but the problem first occured on 06/14/2020 and I did a sucessful Jitsi video call with the device on 06/11/2020 after the update.