First timer - checking requirements

Please bear with me I am a newbie with phones but have toyed with Linux on my PC’s for years. I am ready to start and have read the instructions several times for my Samsung SIII i9300. I have opened development tools and enabled USB debugging but have not got OEM unlock or anything like it. My phone is already able to be updated from the Windows computer via USB and has fastboot in downloaded apps from when I was going to insall a custom ROM.
Does OEM unlock matter
Do I need to load adb and fastboot, adb was not needed to load the custom ROM
The Phone is quite old so I am not worried, think of it as a dry run, I am more concerned with disabling Windows on the Laptop.
Any advice welcome
Thanks

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

Hi @lionel.smith

For my accompaniment during the install process, I am refering to the structure of the F***ing official documentation :
(Install /e/ on a Samsung Galaxy S III (International) - “i9300”)
You can have a look to this great How To too, but it is for another device and fastboot command don’t works for the Samsung devices.

Download /e/ for i9300

The lastest (nougat) /e/ dev image .zip for the i9300 ROM
Also download the Blokada ads-Blocker .apk
and copy them on the root of you SDcard

Requirements

don’t insert SIMcard, don’t connect the device to the WiFi for the moment.

1. You don’t need /e/account for the moment
  2. Enable Developer Options and ADB usb debugging

Preparing for installation

1. The bootloader locking feature was added by Samsung later than the s3 release, so no problem with this first step.

2. you have to build “Heimdall” as it described here :
    (Build Heimdall)

• disconnect the USB cable for rebooting

Installing a custom recovery

• re enable ADB in the Developer Options
  1. You need the .img file not the .tar

use TWRP, to create a backup of your Samsung Stock ROM, select of all the partitions