[HOWTO] Sync your contacts, calendar events, email, notes and tasks to /e/

howto
support

#1

Hello!

Assuming you’ve just gotten /e/ up and running on your device, here are some instructions to sync your existing data (contacts, calendar events, email, etc.).

From an /e/ account

  1. Go to system settings > Users & accounts (“Accounts” if you’re on Android Nougat) > Add account > /e/.
  2. Enter your /e/ email address and password. Then, click “Login”.
  3. Your account has been added to /e/!

Now, your /e/ contacts, calendar events, mail, notes and tasks will automatically show up in the respective apps.

Note: It may take a couple of minutes for your contacts to show up in the Contacts app.

From a Google account

  1. Go to system settings > Users & accounts (“Accounts” if you’re on Android Nougat) > Add account > Google.
  2. You will be redirected to a Google sign-in web-page on your default browser. Here, enter your Gmail ID and password.
  3. If you have two-factor-authentication enabled for your account, you may need to complete some additional on-screen instructions before proceeding.
  4. You will be asked for your approval to let “Account Manager” access your Google contacts, calendar and mail. Click “Allow”.
  5. Your account has been added to /e/!

Now, your Google contacts, calendar events and mail will automatically show up in the respective apps.

Note: It may take a couple of minutes for your contacts to show up in the Contacts app.


Now that all your contacts are just a few taps away, go ahead and tell them about /e/! :wink:


Can't sync calendar app with ecloud calendar
#2

If I sync my contacts/mail/calendar from google account using this lattest way, does it mean that if one day I erase my google account I will also lose that data in /e/?


#3

Hi! Are you referring to deleting your Google account or deleting all data from your Google account?


#4

Hi @nihar1024 i’m referring to deleting the Google account. If I import my Google data manually, not syncing (using .vcf file for contacts, .ics for calendar…), I understand that the data is already in /e/ and that I can delete the original data from Google and then delete my Google account. But if I sync the data using your 2. method, what would happen if I delete my Google account? And if I delete the data? thanks


#5

@graz taking a .vcf backup and storing it somewhere safe is always a good plan. That way you at least have something to revert to.
Hi @nihar1024 how does option 2 work. Does the /e/ mail client take a copy of the address from the Gmail account and save it locally or does it always point to the gmail address book. If it is just pointing to it then if the user deletes the gmail account then he will loose all the addresses on /e/ as well right? How does it work?


#6

@graz

  1. If you delete your Google account:
    All the apps (contacts, calendar, etc.) won’t be able to access your account and will show you a notification saying “error syncing” or similar. But should not delete your data locally.
  2. If you delete your Google account data:
    All the apps (contacts, calendar, etc.) will just sync the deletion and will delete your data locally too.

Please note that I haven’t tested this behaviour personally, so as @Manoj mentioned, please do take a backup of all your important data before deleting your account/data.


#7

Actually a simple test can be made : you change your google account password (so the phone won’t be able to reach your google account as if it had been deleted), and if everything is alright you can delete it.
3ee45956a7ff42897eb7391a580f5475
Impressed by myself :yum:


#8

Actually, I’m not sure if this would emulate the same situation.

If you change your password, the API will return a 401 (authentication failed) error. But the username (Gmail ID) would still exist.

In the scenario where you delete your Google account, the username (Gmail ID) wouldn’t exist at all.

So it might not be the same as deleting your account…


#9

All right, alternative solution : remove the Google Account of the phone. If something you want to keep is deleted, you just have to add your google account again et resync. If everything just stay there, you can delete your google account.


#10

I’m sorry, but this won’t be the same as deleting your Google account either.

Removing your Google account from your device will always remove all data (from the device) as well.


#11

I think I might have a sugestion:

  1. Delete your Gmail account from /e/;
  2. Delete all contacts from /e/ (if still needed);
  3. Export all your contacts from your Gmail account to a .vcf file (use a browser);
  4. Create another Gmail account;
  5. Import the .vcf file;
  6. Add this new account to /e/;
  7. Wait for full synchronization;
  8. Delete the new Gmail account;
  9. See what happens then on /e/.

This way you won’t loose your true account, your contacts will still be there and you’ll have a backup file.