Installing eOS on Fairphone 3

Hello everyone!

Wanting to degoogle my mobile life and having read about the e-foundation I bought a used Fairphone 3 (Android 10 installed) last week. I am now trying to install eOS on it. However, I am completely new to the field, this is probably the reason why I got some problems so far…

In a first step I tried to follow the instructions on Install /e/ on a Fairphone FP3/3+ - “FP3”. In order to do so, I downloaded the necessary files and installed “Minimal ADB and Fastboot” on my PC (Windows 10). However, I got stuck with the command: “fastboot flash recovery twrp-3.4.0-0-FP3.img”. I got: “FAILED (remote: partition table doesn’t exist)”. I don’t know what caused the problem, maybe it depends on my choice of “Minimal ADB and Fastboot”?

I then started reading across different forums. I came across the recommendation not to install TWRP as this would make OTA updates impossible in the future. The issue is not clear to me, as I imagine the e-foundation would not recommend installing TWRP if this caused problems for the future.

After some further research I realized that since November 2020 the easy-installer is also supporting the FP3. I am therefore asking myself whether it would not be the best option to use the easy-installer in order to get eOS installed. However, I also found a couple of threads mentioning that using the installer resulted in differnet problems.

Could anyone give me e hint what would be the best hting to do?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

This might work, but the install guide recommends to use the current Android SDK Platform Tools.

I don’t know why that’s in the install guide for the Fairphone 3/3+, this is an error, it doesn’t work that way on A/B devices like the Fairphone 3/3+.
Just ignore the “Installing a custom recovery” section, the guide doesn’t use TWRP at all after this.

Seems like a rather old error, too …